Wilcox Pass, Jasper – Surveys and wildlife sightings (Part 1)

Surveys were being conducted from Wilcox Pass in Jasper. I made my way down to Jasper at 6am as to be at the trail head for 8:30am to start the surveys. I was supposed to travel up the night before but the camera set-up at Cascade Ponds took a little longer than expected.

And I am so glad I went when I did or I would have missed this…

Beautiful Grizzly bear by Bow Lake
Beautiful Grizzly bear by Bow Lake
Close up!!
Close up!!

This beautiful Grizzly Bear was hanging out munching on wildflowers by the side of the road at Bow Lake. I am not normally one to stop when I see something by the road, but as it was so early in the morning and I was the only person on the road I could not resist taking a photo of this beautiful beast! And what a way to start the day…..

Even with stopping for a little while to watch this incredible creature I still managed to reach Wilcox Pass trail head by 8:30am. The trail was quite quiet, possibly due to the current forest fires in the area. I managed to do a few surveys and by 1:00pm I headed to the Icefield center to pick up the keys to the Warden Cabin that I would be staying in for the next few nights.

The warden cabin was situated at Nigel Pass in the middle of the woods… was a little creepy seeming as though I was going to be staying here alone for the next few nights!!

Creepy cabin in the woods
Creepy cabin in the woods
My own personal picnic area
My own personal picnic area
Lovely view
Lovely view

It was actually a great place to stay and was very grateful to be able to stay here. Even though every noise throughout the night spooked me.

Over the next 2 days, Margaret was coming to Jasper to help with the surveys. And luckily the number of people visiting the trail pretty much doubled so we got a lot of surveys done 🙂

On the first day that Margaret joined me, we decided to walk the Wilcox Trail after finishing the surveys. It was a lovely walk. Great views for minimal effort!!

Lovely view
Lovely view

It didn’t take very long to get up to the top but was a great way to spend the afternoon. Afterwards we treated ourselves to an ice cream from the Icefields center 🙂

After the third day of surveys I headed home for a well deserved couple of days off before heading back up once again for the last 3 survey days.

Leave a comment